Finding beauty in less obvious places

Yesterday I went walking around the waterside areas around Frodsham. This is a small town near the inland end of the Mersey estuary. The areas around Frodsham are a mix of countryside, rivers, canals, and industrial. The River Weaver flows into the Mersey at Frodsham and the Weaver Navigation (i.e. canal) flows alongside it.

I don’t usually go looking for subjects like this but I do like them. I’ve driven past this area for years as the M56 goes right over it on a flyover. I’ve seen it many times in dramatic light or weather, usually early or late on my way to or from the welsh mountains. Each time I see some dramatic light or mist I think I should go and take a look. Yesterday wasn’t dramatic and I couldn’t wait around for the sunset but it was a beautiful day and I really like the mix of industrial, waterside, and rough green land. I’ll definitely go back and look for more dramatic conditions.

 

2 thoughts on “Finding beauty in less obvious places

  1. Thanks. I’d started this post actually trying to write about the Picturesque, the Sublime and the Beautiful, ideas from the Romantic era of the late 18th century. I think the weather at Frodsham would have counted as Beautiful but not Sublime. There is a Picturesque element to these pictures, as long as you update the concept of picturesque from the 18th to the 21st century.
    Anthony

    Like

Leave a Reply

