Shortlisted for OPOTY 2016

Well, I’d like to thank my mother for the encouragement she gave me as a child, my wife for continuing support, etc., etc.

Why the celebration? I’ve had a picture shortlisted for Outdoor Photography magazine’s OPOTY 2016 competition. This is the second year I’ve entered it, no short-listing last year, and just the third competition I’ve entered in all, so I’m fairly pleased. However, I should own up that:

  • I entered seven pictures and only one has been shortlisted
  • The short list is hundreds long
  • Many other people have had six or eight of their shots selected
  • The competition is extremely strong, there are some seriously nice photographs in there.

Here’s the shot that’s been selected:

Kirkstone Lone Tree
A tree is briefly lit by a shaft of sunlight near Kirkstone pass summit

I took it this summer, on a wild camping trip to the Lake District. I like it, I think it’s strong, but oddly I haven’t included it in my sales stock for the art markets yet. I’ll have to get it printed quick-ish and see how it goes down with the general public. The category title I entered it for is “Light on the Land” and this seemed to fit the bill perfectly.

You can view the all of the short-listed photographs from this link. Like I said, some really good shots. Congratulations to everyone else short-listed, and to the eventual winner who probably won’t be me 🙂

UPDATE 21/11/2016 : No, it wasn’t me, but it was nice to be shortlisted.

Leave a Reply

